Towed, dog park, Capitol and a $5,000 bottle of wine.

Every box is unpacked and every decoration is hung. I am officially moved into my new apartment, and it’s perfect. I am so in love with every aspect of my apartment complex.

IMG_2576Mom and I started the week off with a rocky start. After we woke up Monday morning we realized my car had been towed. The complex is very strict with parking, and my temporary pass expired a day before I thought it would. After talked to the property manager we had the $160 fee waved. It was a short drive to pick up Cinnamon (my car). Momma expected me to be really upset when she told me, but, like I told her, there are worse things that can happen. We shouldn’t get upset over every little thing that doesn’t go smoothly.

After picking up the car we headed to the dog park with little Kahlua to let her stretch her legs a little. She’s obsessed with playing fetch and has been dying to get out of the apartment and run around. Everything has been a little overwhelming for her and the kitties, but they have been adjusting nicely. Everyone is starting to become familiar with all of the new things, new people and new noises. Kahlua barks at almost everyone when we go outside, especially dogs, but once she has the chance to sniff them and see they are okay she calms down a lot. She’s been making all kinds of friends.

We wrapped up Monday by going into the city for some Mexican food, and mom wanted to see the capitol. It was nice to finally get into DC and walk around a little, just relax and enjoy the day. There are so many things left on my to-do list, it’s just nice to get away for a little while and not think about all of the things I still need to accomplish. I’ve been trying to take my list one item at a time, but sometimes it can be overwhelming.

IMG_2585

The night ended perfectly, though, with a trip to Total Wine, which is right next to my apartment. That might be a little dangerous. But we picked up a wine rack and a couple bottles of wine for the week. If there’s one thing the Choate women all agree on it’s wine and how we can’t live without it. While at the store we saw a $5,000 bottle of wine. Mom and I just want to taste it to see what makes it so expensive. We convinced Savannah we bought it and drank it without her. She was upset to say the least. She hates being left out of things like that. 🙂

I’m not sure what today has in store for us, but I know it’s going to be a new adventure in my new home. I can’t wait to venture out and see what else DC and Alexandria have in store for me.

One thought on “Towed, dog park, Capitol and a $5,000 bottle of wine.

  1. “I can’t wait to venture out and see what else DC and Alexandria have in store for me.” My train leaves this Saturday. I’m available to meet up for a bike ride of any distance and speed through Friday. The Mount Vernon Trail starts at the north and south sides of Alexandria. I rode the whole trail last Saturday from Arlington to Mount Vernon.

Leave a Reply

