Four days.

The amount of anxiety that comes along with moving 400 miles from home is something I never knew could exist. I feel like there are a million things to do, but at the same time I’m sitting here trying to figure out what to do next. Excitement and dread fill me all at once, and then I end up walking in circles around the house for a good two hours accomplishing nothing.

Saturday was 100 percent the best way to spend the last weekend of my time in Charlotte (except Hal wasn’t there, which made me sad). Some of my best girl friends came over and we just hung out and playing board games all night. I needed a little reminding that no matter how long we go without seeing each other nothing will ever change. We can go two years and barely speak, but the second we are together it’s like we are back in high school putting on face paint about to fork Dave’s yard. Leaving those I love behind has been the hardest part, but now I feel slightly better. I honestly have the best friends on the planet. There isn’t anything we wouldn’t do for each other, and knowing I have that kind of support system fills me with more joy than I have ever known. I have truly been blessed in life.

IMG_2463

I have called this amazing city my home for 24 years, and I will always be a Carolina Girl. I’m going to have to learn how to navigate around Virginia and D.C., find a new grocery store, change my pharmacy, find a new vet for my babies – all things that sound so trivial, but make the change even more of a big deal.

An update on the actual move – I officially have an apartment in Alexandria, Virginia. I’m pretty excited about getting there on Friday and finally starting to move everything in. There isn’t anything I enjoy more than “setting up my nest” as my mom calls it.

If these four days fly by nearly as fast as the past four months – it feels like yesterday I was accepted into the program – then I’m not really sure what I’m going to do. There are so many people I want to see and so many things I need to accomplish. Part of me doesn’t want to leave, but the other part is so excited and so ready to start on my new adventure. ❤

One thought on “Four days.

  1. Jan smith says:

    You are going to amazing things!! Good luck on your new life in a new city!!😄😄 one day at a time!! Safe travels and be sure and post some pictures of your new nest!!

Leave a Reply

