Apartment searching: Day 1

We are about to head out for day two of the apartment hunt, and I am exhausted. I’m relieved that today we will be driving to places in Virginia and Maryland rather than walking all over D.C. It’s been nearly two years since I graduated from college, and I’ve already forgotten how tiring it is walking everywhere. That is definitely something it’s going to take a lot of getting used to.

Good news is we did find one reasonably priced place that I liked yesterday. It’s close to the main campus of Georgetown and a bit of a hike to the graduate school, but I really liked it. And it was in a pretty area. Today we are going to look at places outside of the city to see if there is anything we like. I’m not sure if I would rather live in or out of the city, but I guess it depends on the place. We are going to start in Virginia and work our way around to Maryland. I think I’ve convinced mom to get crab legs for dinner, but we will see how that holds out. You haven’t seen picky when it comes to choosing a restaurant.

Well, off we go.

5 thoughts on “Apartment searching: Day 1

  1. DC was recently ranked the most walkable city in the United States. If you do end up not wanting to walk everywhere, DC also has great bike and transit infrastructure. Have you been on the Capital Crescent Trail or visited Rock Creek Park? They are both located next to Georgetown.

    From what I have observed while walking, biking and riding transit in DC, you don’t want to be driving an automobile in DC. The traffic jams are crazy and motorists are very impatient. Good luck finding a place to live and enjoy DC!

    • Oh yeah I don’t plan on driving into the city at all. I have the public transportation or my bike depending on where I’m going and when I’m going. πŸ™‚ How long will you be up there?

      • My internship lasts through at least August 22. Since I’m planning to attend a conference in Pittsburgh in early September and Portland State University doesn’t start until September 29, I may be extending my internship to September 5. When are you moving to DC?

      • I move this Friday. Once I get settled in you should take my on a bike ride through the city! I’ll be bringing mine along. πŸ™‚ I may not be able to keep up with you if it’s like a 60 mile ride though! haha

  2. My train leaves for Charlotte on August 23 so I will be here until then. Since I work Monday-Friday, the best time for us to meet will be this weekend. While I can bike fast, I prefer to bike slow enough to talk and view the surrounding environment so don’t worry about not being able to keep up. I will bike at your pace and not leave you behind. I have a few routes in mind depending on how far you want to go and what you want to see. Since I’m often on my bike and occasionally get online, it may be faster to text me. My cell #704-787-5859. Looking forward to catching up with you!

Leave a Reply

