The beginning.

As I make my way from Charlotte to Washington, D.C. I wanted everyone I know and love to feel like they were on this journey with me. It’s going to be more than difficult to keep in touch with all of my friends and family on a regular basis, so I thought I would put my writing skills to use and start blogging again.

I can’t promise my posts and stories will be interesting, or even well written for that matter. But I can promise I will update as much as possible as I make my way to D.C. This will be the first time I have lived outside of our lovely North Carolina city, so to say I’m a little nervous would be an understatement. When I think about having to meet all new people, live in a completely unfamiliar place, hundreds of miles away from my family – it makes me want to curl up and never leave my apartment again. But I’m taking a chance, putting all of my faith in God to lead me where I should go and going for it.

Attending Georgetown University for its Master’s in Journalism program has been a dream of mine for some time, one I wasn’t sure would actually come to fruition. But here I am, years after deciding where I wanted to go, only a month or so away from packing up everything I own, including my two little fur babies, and starting a new school, life, career, everything. It’s going to be an amazing journey, and I honestly can’t wait.

A week ago I visited Washington, D.C. to see the school I will soon call home. For a while I had let the stress and anxiety of moving overwhelm me, but when I saw the building, classrooms and city all of that nervousness was replaced by excitement. If I could pack up and move tomorrow I would, without hesitation. I may have gotten lost every time my boyfriend, Keith, let me take the lead, my feet and legs may have nearly fallen off from all of the walking, but it’s such an amazing city that I can’t wait to call home. (Sorry mom, I know home is only where you and Sav are – don’t yell at me!)

“God is within her she will not fall. God will help her at break of day.”

Psalm 46:5

One thought on “The beginning.

Leave a Reply

